Captain America's Shield

This is my first post to BlenderArtists. I’ve been following the site for some time now and have been relunctant to post anything because I find most of the posts on this site to be of such higher quality than what I can produce. But then again, how can I get any better if I don’t seek out input from people that play in this stuff all the time…

I chose to model and render this because the Captain is my younger son’s favourite superhero at the moment.

EDIT 2014-12-02
Thank you for the advice, I decided to revisit my project to apply some of your suggestions. Here is the second take on the shield.

Nice job. I think the colours, especially the blue, are a bit too saturated. The other thing you could improve is giving the shield a bit more of a metal look, which could probably be done with a bit more reflection of the colours in the environment.

I am no expert, but just my 2 cents.

Good, though. The forum is good for getting feedback on, which will help you improve.

that’s a very good job with materials. welcome to the forum. there are all ability levels here.

just a tip, add a texture to the roughness factor to add some imperfections to make the shield more realistic.
here a example:

Hey thanks for the tips!

I had originally planned to add more textures to the shield (I had grand ambitions for burn marks and scratches…) but ran into problems early on when I was modeling. I modeled the shield as a single object, then I imported the start thoguh an .svg I created in Inkscape. Once I was satified with with the shape of both, I kinda eyeballed the position of the star with respect to the top of the shield, joined the too as one object and proceeded to manually create vertices at the point where (I believed) the point of the star connected to the inner most circle from the shield through a process of subdiving edges and merging vertices.