Car Rig problem

Hi,

I made a car rig following these tutorials:

The first problem I encountered was with pointing wheels. The bone that should be tracked was not moving along the curve. It moved first few frames and then just goes off the curve. I managed to solve this by replacing it with another bone which was separated from the rest of the bones(Not the same armature).

But now I have two different “problems”. When I want to make the car move on another curve it just doesn’t work. So my question is do I have to use this curve all the time.
Second thing is I want to make animation with 2-3 cars(same), and I thought just to copy car, but when I do the car loses all of it’s functions. Is it possible to copy car and keep its rig?

This is my first time of doing rig so I don’t have much knowledge about this and I’d be glad if someone can tell me what mistakes I’ve made and how to correct them.

Thanks in advance.

Hi - I wanted to achieve a similar model to you and wrestled with the problem for a long time! I have attached a blend file, with the body of the truck removed so it would upload, which seems to solve the issue. If you select camera view (it should be saved like that) and press play, you can see the wheels turning and steering as they should. My technique uses icospheres tracking on a curve with two armatures with track constraints to achieve the results. Just turn on the invisible layers to see the icospheres, path curve and armatures. Feel free to download the blend file and “take it apart” to see how it works. I have not tried multiple vehicles, but all you will need to do is duplicate EVERYTHING as ONE operation, i.e. select everything you want to duplicate and then duplicate the lot rather than duplicating individual elements one at a time as this destroys the relationships. I am sure you can then move the two new ecospheres along the curve to separate your vehicles.