My very first attempt for a basic armature (your opinions?)

Hey Everybody! :slight_smile:
I’m new here and still learning Blender (2.72b).

So, In other software I used I had very bad experience with the “skeleton” and binding part.
When it gets to color weight and stuff… I always gave up because it never worked for me.

This is my very first attempt on Blender, as you can see the object is VERY simple, no hands no fingers.
But still, I didn’t make it skinny because I wanted to experience the “problems” and learn how to solve them by myself.

So what I show you now (screenshot attached) is the armature before bind with the object, I would like to know if you think I put the bones on the right places.
I’ve tried to put them considering where the volume of the object will be able to bend and rotate, but I’m not sure.
It’s hard to see but I took the elbow a bit back so it’s not 100% straight line.

My goal is to make this weird character animatable without… glitching errors of bad weight influences or whatever they called (sorry about my ignorance I’m very new to this all thing).

What should I do next, automatic weight? or do you recommend me to try something else?
Do you have any tips for me from the current stage?

BTW - I have no clue how to continue to the next stage but I will check out some tutorials but what I did so far is from what I understood while playing with blender.

Thanks ahead and sorry about my bad English.

It would be good if you posted wires, or just screenshots of the mesh in edit mode so we can see the topology. If it’s a learning excercise, post the entire blend, as most likely there will be 3 -10 issues with the mesh that should be adressed before auto weighting.
Is is perfectly mirrored? Is it perfectly centered. is the scale and rotation applied. Are there doubles?.. and more. You can post the blend as if it were an image. If it’s too large for some reason, pasteall.org and dropbox are good for links.

Just from the object mode here: