How do you guys deal with this?

So, I’m currently studying Visual Effects & Motion Graphics at College and it’s fun. Last year we did 2D so animations on After Effects, Premiere and Illustrator and I used flash quite a bit. this year we are doing 3D with Maya and Mudbox, now there is only me and this other guy who actually have experience in 3D before we came to this college, and so to every one else it’s completely new way of creativity to them. i have used blender majorly and shown off some of my stuff in my interview. the other guy using source filmmaker and maya a bit. however the other class mates really dig in me because i use blender a lot and prefer it over maya. i have been using maya as well but defer instantly when i get home. they say stuff like, “hahaha bender” and “that free shit” and any other insult referring to the open source nature of blender and any other reason they can find to blender not being a professional software. some of them actually do like the look and ease of blender but then again others love to fan boy maya and patronise me because of it.
do you think these guys are just having a laugh for the purpose of blender or what? What do you guys think to their comments? how would and have you dealt with people like these ?

:RocknRoll: long post i know

I’m sort of in the same situation. Some of my profs say “that’s cool, now do it in blender”. Kidding me? They don’t even say my blender stuff is good, just want me to use maya. Other profs like what I’ve done though. I just shrug them off and keep on using blender because it’s what I know (even though my prof wants us to use maya in our assignments).

I’d say suck it up. I think the teachers, rightly or wrongly, want you to learn industry standard programs. College now is only to secure a job and not pure education. I would be happy to be proficient in both and probably those who laugh at blender can’t do what you can do with it. And that’s a good thing to have for you.