what camera for a good tracking?

Hello everyone,

I’ve been wanting to buy a camera or a reflex, which I intend to use to make some camera tracking with blender.

So I wonder which features are the most important to get a good tracking:

does filming in 60fps help? I guess the more frames the less blur per frame? Or is resolution more important (to have precise detail)?

I’m really not a pro as far as real filming is concerned, so I would apreciate if you guys know what other features matter to obtain good detail and less blur!

(I’m talking about a reasonable price range and not full professional equipement though)

Thank you!

Not necessarily. Frame rate is not the same as shutter speed. My Panny films at 60fps, but I can set the shutter speed as high as 1/1000th of a second (IIRC) in order to reduce motion blur. (see the pic below.)

The top image was shot at 1/60th of a second. The bottom at about 1/500th.

Or is resolution more important (to have precise detail)?

Yes, you want a minimum of 720p. Preferably 1080p. When you’re tracking a small dot on the video, higher resolution means that spot won’t be heavily pixelated,

Steve S

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Support > Compositing and Post Processing”

Try not to shoot with to much lens distortion, for example GOPRO cameras have almost fisheye lens curve and make tracking hard. Try to get a camera that has very light compression to reduce artifacts that might confuse the tracker.

Thank you Steve, then I will look for something that films 1080p with a good shutter speed.
3pointEdit ah yes I hadn’t thought of that! Thank you

Although, Steve, thinking about it, I guess you get a draker image when increasing the shutter speed, and in the same time a laggy motion right? So the best would be to film in 60fps to increase the shutter speed without having lag or light problems…