Power Suit Reforged

So I was playing Super Metroid the other day, which just happens to be my favorite video game ever. Then it dawned on me that I’ve never done a Samus fan design before. So, this is just a project that I might finish. Not sure what I’m going to do besides the character. Though I do want to make Samus as a base model with/without clothes, then make a suit that actually matches the proportions while still looking cool because normally the power suit has obscenely wide shoulders. Updates won’t be too regular because I’m doing college at the same time. Part of the reason I want to do this is because I haven’t used Marmoset or Quixel software in a long time and there’s been a whole bunch of new stuff in development related to physically based real time rendering and shaders that I want to learn. (might even dabble in a little Unreal 4 since I’ve got a license for it now.) I want it to not feel like the original game in so far as it’s perfect and polished and idealized. I want her to look worn and real, incorporating new elements to emphasize that. I’m not sure whether I only want to do a realtime level of detail or push into doing a full out render. I’ll be working with as high resolution textures and meshes as I can though.

Here’s what I have so far…
http://i.imgur.com/246G7hg.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Mhnj3nA.jpg

Reference I’m working with:

http://i.imgur.com/zJj6S5N.jpg

Noice to be back in the Blender community again! :slight_smile:

Attachments

Sculpted a stylized metroid last night as a warm up… might upload a commentated timelapse depending on if there’s interest in the process…

http://i.imgur.com/qWuMwNU.jpg