Animation precision question

Hello all,
I’m new to Blender,
Currently learning the basics of animation,
Is there a way in blender to insert key-frames between animation frames in order to make a more accurate motion?
Is there a way to put the time slider at a time between whole frames?
Thanks,
Oded

My only suggestion is to perhaps double the simulation time and increase the Frame Step to 2? (look under the Scene tab) Then the key frames between (odd) frames can be used as increased precision. I haven’t tried this before but it was something that I came across by accident once.

Thank for the tip Sandra!

I found that After you create a key-frame,
Blender let’s you move it to an exact time somewhere between animation frames,
And rendering and motion blur react correctly as expected.
So Blender is a time based software and not frame based software,
which makes perfect sense, for such a developed animation software to be.
But I can’t initially place the time slider in an exact time between frames,
I haven’t been able to find any way to disable the time slider’s snapping to frames.
Is there a way to do it at all?

I honestly don’t know of any way to disable snapping the time slider to whole frames. You can disable snapping the keyframes in the graph editor, so that can help already. What kind of work do you do that requires such minutia ?

Any animation of a naturalistic nature need that kind of time resolution.
For instance, naturalistic facial movement, animal or insect movement,
These are examples of tasks that require placing key-frames in a much higher precision than say 1/24 of a second,
Even if your output is a 24 fps movie, and the motion isn’t shown in a whole frame,
The intricate motion is reflected in motion blur, just like it would on film.
Time based animation software usually record key-frames with an internal “tick” time measure,
That typically has a value of 1/4800 of a second.