The girls here are so rude!

Argh!

Internet is probably the worst place to put this, but here it goes.

I work as a cashier at a small resturaunt/market store. Whenever a girl about my age (25), add or subtract 10 years, comes up to the cash register, I say, “Hello” in a reasonably friendly manner. “How are you?” and what not as well. And they often say nothing. Or they say “Hi” or “Fine” in a way that just seems rude. Sometimes it is easy to tell they are shy, but sometimes they just looked… well, concieted. I don’t know what they are really thinking, so there’s that.

I also have a couple of co-workers who I can’t even have conversations with. They act like I’m going to attack them at any moment, and I’ve worked with a number of girls like that, as well. They make me very uncomfortable and I feel as if they are accusing me of something (may just be me, there; would be good because that means I have a measure of control over that).

I live in the Ozarks, in the Bible Belt in the US, which is a fairly religious place. So-so. It also known as conservative. I just wonder if it’s that way everywere? I understand that there are definatly reasons to be “cautious,” or whatever word would be appropriate, but I’m beginning to feel, after spending my whole life here and not really knowing what it’s like elsewhere very well. It seems like it’s different in different places. Enough so to be noticable.

In my experiences a lot of people, certainly not all of them, grow up learning to objectify others. People grow up watching their parents have their every desire catered to by customer service agents such as waiters and cashiers.

In order to ensure the widest customer base possible a company often orders their employees to cater to even the rudest of customers, in fact many times the rudest customer gets the best discount or the most attention.