Can't import xcf file.

Hi all. New member here with a question about Gimp.
I’m trying to import an xcf file into Blender but am not having much success. I have xcftools installed and the xcf import/export addon has been activated in user preferences. Every thime I try to import I get this message,

I don’t know enough about Blender to know what the messages means or what the problem is, only started using it a few weeks back so I’m still finding my way around.

I’m hoping to be able to try out some lighting effects on the xcf. Blender looks like it could be a good addition to Gimp in this respect but it will just be me experimenting at this stage.
I have been using Gimp for several years so for any problems at that end I should know where to look and how to fix them, not so for Blender though.

Running Linux Mint 17, Gimp 2.8.14, Blender 2.69

Thanks for any help with this.

Hey caz747. I can’t confirm the issue with Blender 2.72 and an XCF file generated by GIMP 2.8. Can you upload your file somewhere? If it’s private, you can email it to me at [email protected]. Thanks!

Thanks for the info, prokoudine. I have tried several different xcf files but Blender won’t import any of them.
I can’t add the xcf to this post as I get a message saying xcf is an invalid format so I will e-mail one of the files over to you.
Thanks.

Version 2.69 suggests that you’re using repository version of Blender. Even if not, try with the latest official from the website. Problems with repository versions belong to distribution support.

It really doesn’t matter. I can confirm this on official 2.72 release. I can also create a new XCF file of my own from dev version of GIMP, and it will fail to load as well, so I’m guessing that’s what caz747 is doing too: using unstable GIMP where file format has been sightly changed. Let’s see how this could be fixed.