Using Blender to save lives? Help needed!

I’m a British doctor involved in teaching advanced life support. I’ve also dabbled in programming (PHP, HTML5, Javascript) and have recently been playing around with Blender. I think it’d be a great tool for making a game to teach healthcare professionals (and perhaps the general public) life support skills.

My problems are lack of time and artistic talent, so I’m looking for help. I want to build a virtual resuscitation room and program a couple of scenarios to play through (and subsequently add to these if the project is successful). For now, it’ll just focus on one or two key skills - perhaps airway management and effective chest compressions.

Clearly, the clinical content needs to be completely accurate and is not amenable to change, but otherwise it’s very much open to creative input. The finished product needs to look and feel realistic but, above all, it needs to be fun. I’m hoping to find a few people in the Blender community who are up for a spare-time challenge that could make a real difference to patients’ care.

Please post back if you’re interested in getting involved and I’ll explain my ideas in more detail.

Sounds like a great project. I would love to help out, but my time is also limited. I might be interested in pitching in here and there.

I used Blender to design a GUI for a ventilator I’m working on (for my wife - personal noncommercial project). Here’s a link of it running: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfB_73DWiaE

It’s tough trying to get good graphics out of the game engine unless you’re a shader guru, but the node programming helps a lot for throwing things together quickly. Do you have a more specific scenario in terms of graphics?

Attachments