bge + coding workflow

First of all I’d like to apologise if this is this is answered in other posts, but I’ve searched the forum for days now and I can’t seem to find the relevant information.

Some unimportant (and uninteresting) background: so yeah, I’d like to start building up my uber world famous most awesome game ever but I have no experience with game engines (and game building for that matter…). I do have programming experience and know a thing or two about algorithms (at least their names :smiley: and read a lot of related articles). However, before I can even begin to think about my uber world famous project… I find it very difficult to figure out how to get my ideas inside the engine… in other words, how things fit together. This wouldn’t be that big of a deal if I were to work with code only because I’m used to working with code and I would probably figure out my style along the way… but:

Do any of you experienced BGE guys be inclined to help us noobs find our coding work flow (pelase)?

In short, how would you use programming patterns in BGE? Where do they go? Do you make a “game empty” type of manager object and add some “management” code in there? How would this master “game empty” interact with other objects? Where would the AI code go? Is the observer pattern useful? How would you keep your code decoupled (would you even have to, think about the command pattern)? Do you have a “master” script / module that initializes everything at the start or do you have an initializer script / module per object? etc.

I would like to hear all about your coding work flow / style / management. I think it will be really instructive for us noobs to get us past the basic “character moved by keyboard push fancy box things around” and into more advanced implementations.

Thank you.

Think ‘Object’ and ‘module’

eg: a tank called Abram. This tank will have its own property such as speed, weight etc.
Abram will have movement code eg: tracksmove.py