Edit vertex groups during cloth simulation

Hello peeps.

I’m trying to remove some vertices from a group during a cloth simulation without interrupting the simulation.
It seems like I’m either stuck with a “context is incorrect” error or some code that interrupts the simulation.

I’m new to python so be gentle.

I know this doesn’t work but here’s essentially what I’m trying to do:

import bpy

def set_weight(scene):
    print("Frame Change", scene.frame_current)
    if scene.frame_current == 5:
        bpy.ops.object.mode_set(mode='EDIT')
        bpy.ops.object.vertex_group_remove_from(use_all_groups=True, use_all_verts=True)
        bpy.ops.object.mode_set(mode='OBJECT')

bpy.app.handlers.frame_change_pre.append(set_weight)

Could you explain what you’re trying to achieve in a bit more depth ?
In your code, my guess is that going to edit mode and back to object mode interrupts the simulation.
From what I understand and from the code you’ve written, you want your cloth pinned with a vertex weight group until frame 5, and pinning stops at frame 5.

Why not deactivate the pinning or change the vertex pinning group with one of the following lines ?

bpy.data.object["yourobject"].modifiers["Cloth"].settings.use_pin_cloth=False

bpy.data.object["yourobject"].modifiers["Cloth"].settings.vertex_group_mass='YourNewVertexGroup'

I’ve got a shirt collar and I’m guiding it into shape. To guide it I’ve got some pinned points and sewing springs going to those points. Once the collar is guided into shape by the points, I’m hoping to turn off the force of the pinned points so the ends of the collar can relax into a more natural position after about 10 frames. I can’t use the sewing force because I’m using a patch that removes the sewing lines after a few frames.
this function:

bpy.data.object["yourobject"].modifiers["Cloth"].settings.use_pin_cloth=False

stops the simulation.