issue with vector addition

Hello fellow blender artists!
Ive been using blender for about 2 years now and finally decided to learn python. Ive started teaching myself by trying to fix bge games that were made back in 2.4, 2.5 etc.
I’m having trouble fixing a bug with the main menu that prevents me from moving the selection cursor across the 3 options.
The following is output when i press the up or down keys to scroll down the main menu:

Blender Game Engine Started
Python script error - object 'Plane.003', controller 'menu':
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "menu", line 19, in <module>
AttributeError: Vector subtraction: (Vector -= int) invalid type for this operat
ion
Python script error - object 'Plane.003', controller 'menu':
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "menu", line 20, in <module>
AttributeError: Vector addition: (Vector += int) invalid type for this operation

Blender Game Engine Finished

Here are the lines of code that are causing the problem:

if up: pos -= 1
if down: pos += 1

I know it has to do with the fact that you can’t add an integer to a vector, but i’ve been searching online all day and I haven’t found a solution yet. :frowning:

Thanks in advance :smiley:

If you want to add an integer to a Vector (pos is a Vector in this case), you need to specify which axis you want to add it to (x, y, or z). In your case you probably want the z axis.

if up:
    pos.z -= 1
if down:
    pos.z += 1

it didnt work
sorry, i forgot to mention that pos is apparently referring to a keyframe on the timeline

A keyframe is a number. Usually from type float. You would not get a problem adding 1 to a float.
Why do you call a keyframe “pos”? Is it because it is supposed to be “positive” ;)?

Anyway, it would be better to provide more details. You already know the source of the error. But we can’t guess what you want to do.

Sadly, im not the original creator of this game so I wouldn’t know why he/she used certain commands.