Getting the right sense of scale

I’d like some advice on this image I’m working on. I’ve got to a point where I’m starting to get frustrated that the image doesn’t appear to be the right scale. It looks like a model street rather than a full sized one, and I don’t know what subtle clues of scale I’m missing.

The two figures are placeholders to help me see scale when modelling or texturing, the final render will have no people in it at all, just the buildings. Any suggestions for making this read more realistically as a full scale view?

edit: Cycles render, not at the compositing stage yet.

I’m not a expert or guru by any means but I don’t see the problem. The lighting is way to flat for my taste but that is subjective call. A scene like this shouldn’t really need anything to set the scale. But, I’ve read the archviz types will use a human cutout even in a scene like this just for that purpose. Also, I’m not a big Cycles user but honestly what size is your sun. Try setting it to .005 and cranking it up.

In my humble opinion you have a very nice still here. But, the lighting is making it look flat. Also I would include something on the edge of the frame which is on this side of the street. A mail box or streetlight and maybe put it on the left edge. With a change in lighting and that it might have way more depth.

I think to let the scene give a sense of scale you will need to add more elements in the foreground and move behind the camera: a car is good to improve the sense of scale, then maybe a bench or garbage bins, trees or other “street furniture”.
As theoldghost said lighting can be improved; also that can contribuite to give the right sense of scale.

As TheOldGhost said the sun lamp should be smaller. I usually set mine at 0.004. Currently it looks like studio ligthing.

Have you modelled everything in real world units? making sure doors / steps / curbs are realistic? the door on the right hand side looks a bit thin?