Print 3D landscape Photogrammetry model

Hi!

My name is Meije Sibbel, I’m a geology student in the Netherlands. For the last few weeks i have been making a photgrammetry 3d model from images taken from a drone for topography analysis. Now that my 3D model is finished, i want to 3D full color print this model. Unfortunately my experience with blender, meshlab… for editing my model is very small. I have extruded the model in blender and applied a base to it. Unfortunately i cannot unite the 2 objects into 1 and when i upload the model the website sculpteo.com says that it has errors and cannot be printed. Is there anyone that has the time to help me fix the model and tell me what i did wrong, or what is missing?

regards,
Meije

I have tried to use boolean modifier but it won’t work. If i extrude the 3D model, will it automatically be solid?.

Also there’s this tutorial from cg cookie that might help you:

If you 3D print i’d suggest get rid of vegetation from the model and forget for a while base.
Print material costs volume and print size, has a minimum thickness requirement as a rule.
Add Solidify modifier to your ground model and print only that.
As for the trees - this looks fine and easy.
Painted plastic box lid or wooden block you glue model on top would make a base.

eppo, But if i forget the base, my model will not be completely flat at the base, is this acceptable?, i have extruded the model a bit, is this necessary?. I have tried increasing the wall thickness, but it has no effect on the mesh.

That’s fine if you have flattened perimeter vertices - quick way is Menu - Select - Select Boundary Loop, extrude Z, scale z 0.
After, add Solidify modifier (if that was Plane you started with, if not, make it plane - delete bottom faces) and when you have needed thickness (check on 3d print site) apply modifier.
This printed object you can glue to any base- cardboard, wood or polished granite.
Quick ANT landscape model to check http://www.pasteall.org/blend/31493