Are objects not seen from camera angle rendered in an image?

Trying to save render time.

So here’s my situation: I’ve made an aircraft model that has interior cockpit details for when I render images for the inside.

If I render an image of the aircraft from the outside (i.e. you can’t see the cockpit), will those details inside be rendered, since they are not visible from the camera view?

And I can’t move all these details to a new layer or hide them, because of things like the seat having to be visible through the canopy glass. Not sure if only what you can see though the glass be rendered, or would it still use the entire object for the seat- most of which can’t be seen from the camera.

And( yes, I’m still new to this. I do understand that a render is a generated image, but since this is not an animation I don’t know if it will use all the vertices that are hidden behind objects, facing away from the camera, etc.)

Thanks!

I’m not sure if they are completely discarded or not. But I have noticed that the further away certain things are from the camera the faster they render and if they are off screen the scene also renders faster. Though I do think that you still loose time during the initial calculation of the scene since it still calculates the presence of the object.

If you are referring to Cycles (or any raytracer, really), the answer is “sorta”.

In one sense, yes, they are rendered, since the raytracing calculation traces against all objects in the scene. There is no way to know if an object is visible or not unless you actually try and trace against it. (or the user said it was invisible using stuff like the ray visibility flags) The entire work of rendering is seeing if things are visible, so you can’t just eliminate “invisible” objects to save time.