How would one go about modelling the Millennium Falcon ?

Hi I am relatively new to Blender and I am looking for a challenge. When modelling something like the Millennium Falcon would it be better to do it in separate parts or one mesh ? It’s just that there are so many complex lines and changes in the structure. I was wondering how those parts should be modelled ?

Lots of little pieces. Build the major form as a single piece perhaps, but then the rest is all just bits welded on anyway so you might as well model it that way.

Depends on what you want to use it for. Close up shots: do what K Horseman said, get the base form close to the correct profile then start making and duplicating small bits to attach. if its for render only, just child them to the main body. if its for a game, you’ll have to figure out how to weld them in and make it all manifold while not completely blasting through your vertex budget.

Hi thanks guys for the replies. I am going to look to use it for animation. Do I need to watch my vertex budget with animation ?

Vertex count will eventually become a concern as the viewport’s realtime performance can suffer drastically at high vertex counts. If your model is going to be extremely detailed I would recommend creating an animation proxy. A lower polygon approximation of the final model (perhaps in this case just the main body of the ship, undetailed) which you can comfortably manipulate and animate, but which is set to be invisible to the renderer (turn off the camera icon on this object in the outliner). The more detailed version is visible to the renderer but not to the viewport (turn off the eye icon in the outliner but not the camera), and is either parented to the lighter proxy or uses constraints to copy its animation, or if an armature is used it can be skinned to the same armature as the proxy.