Replace selected objects with curves or metaspheres

I’m trying to write a simple automation script that, for each object inside selection, would copy it’s coordinates to variable, delete object, and add another object (like a curve or metasphere) using the coords from variable.

Being a complete noob to both Python and bpy libs doesn’t help, even though I know it should be a rather simple task.

For starters, I have a problem with ‘cycling’ through selected objects, so i don’t know how to tell Blender to choose a single (active?) object from selection, on which I can then perform an operation (like add it’s coords to the end of (x1,y1,z1…xn,yn,zn) type list and delete object when done), and then have it choose another.
Or is there a better way to do this?

Any help appreciated, but no ready code please, I’m here to learn! :slight_smile:

Any help appreciated, but no ready code please, I’m here to learn!

SURE!
Here goes

first up in python you need to bring in the bpy module, this will give you access to all of blender python commands (blender python, blender py, b py, bpy)… so we need to import it in

import bpy

from there you can make a loop such as

for a in bpy.context.selected_objects:
    print(a.name)

which will print out all selected objects names into the system console… What that is doing is what is called a loop…
blender reports a list of objects under bpy.context.selected_objects
it is saying first entry in this list, set as the variable a, then run the code following which is indented
then is there a second entry? if so run again, and so on and so on for every item in that list

or

print(bpy.context.active_object.name)

will print the active objects name or even

print(bpy.context.active_object.location)

will print a vector, of x y z locations of the active object

experiment in the python console to see what you can and can’t access!! thats how i learnt a lot about bpy