Rustic Bathroom

Hi everyone,

I’ve been following posts on this forum for a while now, but only recently have a felt confident enough to publish any of my work, so will be interested to hear your feedback as to how I can improve. This is my first attempt at creating a rustic bathroom based on a photo I found online, although I’ve made a few changes based on what I thought worked. I was having a lot of trouble with the floor and wooden beam textures, so any advice on how to improve these would be great. I’m happy with how the bath I created came out and think the lighting is working well, but will be happy to accept any comments :slight_smile:

Paul

I think it looks great. The only thing, or two that sticks out for me are:

the porcelain seems a little too reflective (but then again, this may be an actual thing I’ve not encountered before)

The overblown light coming from outside is hiding that neat looking vase.

Other than that, I think it looks fine-maybe a bit more displacement on the ceiling texturing. Great stuff.

Thanks, I agree with the glare around the window and will tone that down a bit. I actually quite like the reflections off the porcelain, and going to try to improve the textures of the wood. Also thinking of adding in a skirting board, but not sure how that will look, and think it needs humanising (if that’s a word), so bottles of shampoo, candles, etc.

Here’s a closeup around the radiator and bath area. I actually put quite a bit of detailing into the pipework on the radiator, although probably not that noticeable. Will leave my PC to re-render the main scene with some changes made overnight and see how it looks tomorrow.

Really nice work, this is gorgeous. The things I note are really pretty trivial to fix.

1. yup, porcelin is too glossy. Either up the roughness, or decrease the mix factor. I think the latter.