Union Pacific 119 Replica

Ok, as a Blender beginner I probably bit off more than I can chew so this will be one of those long-term-WIPs.
I have no affinity with trains but thought this one looked cool so started modelling. Little did I know this is a famous engine (with quite a history) - for I’m not American (I’m betting a lot more Americans know about the history of this train).

I also underestimated how many parts are on locs to look at (so to be modelled!). When I’m done with this I’ll probably know more about steam engines than I’ve ever known!

Anyway ; your critique is welcomed. Just keep in mind this is far from finished. :slight_smile:

Edit : Latest render :

Render from first post :

First render:

Little update:

You probably might think that nothing has been done but you’d be mistaken. Since I have no blueprint and only a few reference pics of acceptable resolution to my availability I’ve been doing a lot of adjusting (repositioning / rescaling) to try and match the “real” deal. I think I have everything in place now but footage is rare and I have yet to figure out what many of the parts of the undercarriage look like. When I have enough realism that it’ll pass for a still render I’ll put this project on hold until I can get more details about this engine. I’m not quite there yet, though!

Update : Adjusted lighting and some material colors. Also needed to shift around some parts to make everything fit (the more I’m adding, the more everything needs to be adjusted since a lot of parts are (mechenically) connected). When everything is modelled, all textures will get an overhaul (these are just for coördination). Ultimately, I’ll be going for a desert setting with some background modelling.

I know just how you feel. I recently started a locomotive project almost exactly like this, and I got swept up in learning every mechanical part to get it accurate. Amazing machines that deserve a closer inspection. Good choice for the color scheme.