In Need of Some High-Level Blender / CG Advice

Hello everyone,

First off, I’m completely new to both Blender and computer graphics, in general. I’ve done a lot of Googling and searching, but I’m having a tough time finding guidance on what I think are probably fairly high-level, basic questions. I’ve stumbled upon this forum and I’m hoping I can get some assistance. I appreciate any help that anyone can give me. Just to be clear, I don’t have ambitions of ever being a Blender expert any time soon…right now I mainly just want to be able to know enough so that I can ask the right questions and write an appropriate workscope description if and when I try to hire a contractor to help me with this.

I’ve written some physics-based simulation code that predicts the motion of an object vs. time (think something like simulating the motion of a golf ball, or a vehicle, or billiards, or something along those lines). I’d like to be able to make a decently high-quality rendered video / animation of the output of my simulation code. So, basically I’d like to feed in all the positions and orientations of my moving objects (as a function of time) into a program like Blender and then do a nice video where I show the results of the simulation. These would be fairly short clips (probably 5 or 10 seconds each). Most of the scene would be stationary and there would be a few moving objects that would get their positions / orientations for each “frame” from a text file that my simulation code would output. In terms of complexity, I’m thinking the whole scene could be modeled in somewhere around 500,000 to 1,000,000 polygons…there wouldn’t be anything fancy like cloth or glass or grass or hair or anything like that.

So, I guess the high-level questions are these: