Steam tractor [WIP]

Hello im modelling a 3d steam truck just for my own amusement, right now i have finished modelling it (didnt do low poly or anything) just basic modelling, and now im gonna try to do some materials as well. Also i should add this is my first work on blender, i have only worked before with 3ds maya and max but only for a short time. So far this is what i got. Im having some problems of trying rust to appear in areas i want, and for it to look realistic thought. N

Newest render:

I think I made one like that last year!
you should be able now to add pics in thread now!

show us like a matcap render
show us a wireframe for topo may be!

happy bl

Well i guess this is what you asked for? Umm im not using mapcaps not sure what they are for as i mentioned im new at blender. Right now im using only this node setup, to get a mask of the rust, im painting over in uv maps with photoshop for it, to add rust to the areas i want, becouse i dont want all of it rusted just the parts i bassicly started already doing you can see it the pic, althought it still doesnt look even close to good, not sure how could i receive a nice effect of rust around lines, connections, strapouts, gears, i mean anything that is out of the original part.

beginning to look good
are you doing it in cycles ?

my model did not have a wheel in front !

it’s just that matcap allows to render 10 times faster with a sort of clay mat
but if you already know about UV you might not need it !
you already have some 3D know how from other soft

happy cycles

Yeah im doing everything in cycles engine, since it was my first model i did many many mistakes, didnt try to achieve low polys and stuff, so that way some of the uv maps are distorted, for my next model i will surely make less of poligons to make a nice uv map.

is there some reference pic for this model

your not that high res more medum res !

there is the chain which I don’t know if it is good or very low res !