Rigging Question

Good morning… this is my first time posting here… am notsure if am in right area…
I started out usingBlender with 2.49 version (I think it was) I created a few characters…playing around with it… nothing reallygreat… but created them and added the bones and posed them and did a couplesmall animation videos…as I try to learn… I got it all to work… am now on 2.63 version and cannot get the bonesto work …My character might have 9 or 10 parts… I usually add UV Sphere forthe head, the neck, the body, two for each leg (I’m trying to create acat)… I add the bones, creating thebody bone first, then creating the legs and then the neck and head… When I’ve done the extruding they are allconnected… if I click on one, they all are showing active… I cannot get thembinded to the body so when I move them, the whole leg moves… right now, when I move the bone to pose it,the body won’t move with it… I’ve read many tutorials, watched videos,followed the instructions and not working… I’m not sure what I am doing wrong here… I had no issues with 2.49 version trying tolearn it, but this version can’t figure it out… I feel like I"ve gonebackwards in my learning…
thank you
Barbara

My posting went in weird… was having problems with website being very very slow when I posted…