Can this resolution trick be done in VSE ?

I’m a beginner & only use the VSE in Blender. I mostly post videos for a group during our classic corvette cruises.

I have 2 Dashcams in my car taking front & rear views as I drive. Each cam records at 1600x900@30fps. I stack them (via image offset) on top of each in Blender so the resulting vid is 1600x1800. This shows the views out the front & rear car windows simultaneously.

Sometimes I would like to show just one of the views. When doing this it would be great if I could enlarge that view for greater detail. I realize I can’t do this within my resolution w/o losing parts of the sides.

My question is…

is there a technique I’m unaware off on how to accomplish this? I could start off w/ a much larger resolution, but then when I show the front & rear, they would be black borders & the file would be much larger also. Since the majority of the time the stacked views play, that isn’t an option.

Any tricks u pros use?..thanks for u’r time on this.

I’m not sure I see the point. If you want to focus on one simply turn off the other strip through opacity. Otherwise use a transform effect to move the focused one into the middle. This effect strip will allow you to zoom up the shot but it wont get any sharper and you’ll cut off the sides.

There is no easy way around the problem.

Thanks for the reply & info.

I wanted to avoid the appearance that something was missing by just leaving out one of the views all of a sudden.

The idea of moving the one view to the center when not using both & possibly zooming in a small amount sounds like the best solution.

I’d appreciate any advice about using the transform tool to place it in the center & how to zoom in temporarily…afraid I’m a beginner here :confused: