I am an Artist

Hey everyone! I need some advice on this new work.
I’m creating this one based on two drawings from a children’s book by Marta Altés called I am an Artist. I love this book,
which gave me the idea to turn it to 3D. It’s about a kid that lives and loves art, despite his mother despair to try to keep the house in one piece :slight_smile:

I still have to finish the boy’s face texture, add the wires holding the objects in the desk lamp.
The desk lamp is still to be finished as well, though I don’t know exactly what goes best, a bit cartoony or a more detailed real desk lamp.

As it is based in a drawing, I’m going for a frontal shot against an almost flat background to keep some sort of a 2D framing.
The detail is aimed towards examples like Despicable Me. Enough detail, with cartoony forms.
I went for a full carpet floor to emphasize the mess in the floor, which might be much harder to clean.
As it is a children’s design I want it colourful and bright, so I chose also a more coloured and childish wallpaper, which in turn makes it more difficult to combine with all the colors in the foreground.
I hope it is already able to depict what I see in my head :smiley:

I need expert advise from you all, because I’m not entirely shure mainly about the composition, framing and color. But you can talk about anything.

By the way, it took my i7 PC about 8h to render this one, with not enough samples. This is mainly because of all the hair particles, so I have to think of a way to optimise it a bit more…
The original are basically two drawings in consecutive pages, very clean with a lot of character. I really like all the art by Marta Cortés.
I thought adding the carpet and the background would make it more into the 3D realm and give it depth.

I like it, but maybe the wall is a little bit too far back, if your trying to keep the “2d feel”, the wall is doing the opposite.
I might go find a copy of that book now aha