Cycles Smoke & Fire explosion render - A newbie comparison with Internal

Hello
I thought that I would share with you my first efforts of an explosion. For nearly a year, have been struggling with an explosion, firstly with blender internal and in the last 3 weeks with the Cycles Smoke and Fire render. Havng had loads of issues with internal, I was naive enough (being a total newbie) to duplicate the project file and adapt the materials etc to cycles.
I think pictures speak louder than words.

https://eshare.yr.com/publicController.do?folderName=20140630&fileName=kRTIVvcKhy

A word of warning ! It takes me about 2 days to render the scene in Internal on about 10 machines. The cycles result took me about 2 days per image on more than 10 machines!! In total, nearly 2 weeks. I am sure that it can be optimised as I do not really know what I am doing.
But the goal of sharing this is to show just what the cycles potential can be in the hands of a competent user.
I hope it inspires.
Thanks to all of you that helped get to this … and it is far from finished.

The cycles rendering is significantly more realistic to me.

What kind of machines are you using? Two days per frame seems awfully slow.

I had to render the smoke twice to cover any issues with debris coming through the flames, so a single pass would take about half the time. The average render machine was an old macpro 2.6 quad core with 8 gigs of ram . I think I was low on ram, which probably did not help, as I saw the ram maxing out. To combat some very grainy initial renders, I finally set the render setting below. Even with these settings, there is still “grain’” in the image. That said, I got the impression that I was rendering plenty of nothing. If anyone can tell me how to optimise all this, I would be very grateful.

Attachments