Planning my future. Need some help.

Hey there everyone. I’m not sure if this is the right place to write this but here goes.

I’ve been using Blender for almost 3 years now and I think I can call myself rather experienced. I am also almost 16 and I have started thinking about my future. I hope to have a career in 3D and I am now concered as to what I should do to make that happen.

Probably atleast a few of you out there have heard the name PigArt. If you have then you probably know that I am into low poly (Like really into it). So I have a few questions about that and some general ones too.

Is the low-poly, plain diffuse colours, simplistic style used in the 3D industry? I mainly focus on just modelling in low-poly and then using simple colours to bring my scenes to life. I do a lot of simple scenery but I am starting to do more low-poly “anatomy” models. By that I mean modelling animals, characters and just overall trying to get the right topology. Are there any positions like that in the industry that focus on just modelling those kind of things?

Because I think that getting a job where you only make models is though I am thinking of buying a tablet to try and learn how to texture my models.

Seeing how I am rather experienced, should I start trying to work as a freelancer or sell my models somewhere? If so, what would the best places be?

I hope that isn’t too hard to read and understand. I have a really hard time writing big texts like this.
Anyways, looking forward to your comments.

I’d say that the more you learn, the better, so go on with tablet and texturing.
About freelancing and/or selling models, why not both of them?
Don’t know a lot about low poly modeling in the industry… sorry.

I’m not an english native speaker, by the way your english seems better than a lot of people here on the forum… :slight_smile:

I wish you all the best.

Selling sites:
Turbosquid: http://www.turbosquid.com
3DExport: http://3dexport.com/