Blender Cycles / real photography test

Hi folks.

I’m new in Blender practice. I just re-discover this amazing software and fell in love with it. For me, after 3D Studio, 3D Studio Max, Lightwave and ZBrush, this one is the most “friendly” I found by far. So thanx to developers that bring us this great tool for free.

Question:

• How to achieve a real-looking scene in Blender without knowing what would it be if it was real (because if i want to build a spaceship in CG I don’t want to build it in real, maybe a maquette but I don’t have so many room in my place). For understanding how to build a realistic scene, I thought that the best way is to compare an object photgraphed by myself and build the same in Blender.

So here it is, my very simple scene with simple materials:
A white ceramic plate, a sagex (expanded polystyrene) sphere and little box, all on a square panel in white canvas.
No textures, only material nodes.
I went back my home, near the big church, and took pictures in different lighting situations, then I took 360° panoramic photographs for the environment lightning and reflexion shaders.

On these both, I had to trick a little by adding to emission planes: 1 clear blue on top of the sphere to add more sky light, 1 warm white on the left side to enhance the light rebound on the white panel.

• The big problem I had on this one under the full sun:
    The ceramic reflects only the higher light value of the sun, meanwhile it relfect a little of the objects posed on it.
    I tried to take the world reflexion (node>Light Path>Reflexion) and to modify it some like an image with different nodes without finding the good way.
    So I tricked: I create 2 environment spheres, 1 for the world (normal picture > applying all surfaces except relexions) and 1 for the reflexion (same picture modified in Photoshop to show only the sun > applying only reflexions).