Best game engine to go with Blender

Couldn’t find any more appropriate place to put this. Anyway, me and my friend might put some hours into developing games. We are complete noobs when it comes to game engines and 3D (beside my little knowledge of Blender).

Anyway, we are looking for best game engine that could work well with Blender. I don’t know how will export of object/rigging and other stuff to any other game engine go.

Also that game engine should be free (probably GPL). Is Blender Game Engine the best i can get?

The best engine to work with Blender is Unreal. As for being free, I’ve yet to find one that cleanly imports Blender models. If you want free, the best engines are S2 or ShiVa. Keep in mind that the Blender game engine is not a full game engine, and will not perform to standards set by devoted platforms.

1 Like

It is a full game engine, to be clear, but the remainder of the post is valid.

Also, Shiva’s free version is only web-oriented. To be able to export to actual executables, you’ll need to pay. Also S2 only seems to support Windows 7 and XP - no other platforms.

@subdividesmooth - If you’re looking for free engines, you might want to try Panda3D or JME3 (though I have had nothing but trouble trying to get JME3 to load a blend file without any issues). The BGE is pretty solid and has been getting some work done recently, which is really nice.

As a question, what kind of game are you trying to make?

Yea, i saw that about Shiva. I am a bit suprised that there are no some good quality free game engines. Of course, that Panda3D would do it, but it is really hard to find good tutorials (including Blender -> Panda), and question is how many problems i would get into before even starting doing something.

As for game, we just want some basic First Person camera that can move around map, nothing special, no AI, no guns, just little physics (like animated doors). So what you propose BGE or something else??