Zbrush vs. Blender sculpting

Hi Guys,

I’m hoping to start a discussion comparing Zbrush and Blender in general and sculpting in particular. I have no experience with zbrush and since you cannot get a demo I don’t plan to gain any soon.

But I would like to understand the differences. I know that the zbrush interface is very different but is it really all that much better a software package? If you have any experience with both packages I would appreciate your thoughts on the subject.

Eric

If you take Dyntopo out of the equation, it’s very hard to compare the two. You have to keep in mind that ZB does sculpting and ONLY sculpting, and it does it incredibly well. Speed, poly counts, and toolset all dwarf Blender’s sculpting toolset, but this is to be expected. Some people hate the UI. I love it. It feels like a physical workspace, and everything can be made entirely custom. Tooltips are always available and are incredibly descriptive. The whole package is designed around tablet use as well. There are also literally thousands of courses and tutorials out there.

Blender has a decent sculpting workflow, but there are some glaring issues. Multires is in need of a total overhaul. The current modifier can permanently break meshes without the user being aware for hours until they drop and re-raise subD levels, by which point it’s possible that an unbroken earlier sculpt is long overwritten. The lack of an option to delete lower multires levels is also unfortunate. Reprojection with the shrinkwrap modifier is okay at best, and often requires a lot of manual vert tweaking to fix, which isn’t always reasonable or possible with heavy meshes. I also really miss the presence of ZRemesher and Dynamesh when I’m working in Blender. Ditto for transpose tools and easier masking workflow.