Only Shadows Material - Will it ever be implemented in Blender ?

I know we can get a shadows catcher with nodes…its not so hard… but having a material that does just that would be faster, like the old blender render had one…

just want to know if this a planned feature the way it has to be done now with nodes is the way is going to stay ?..

thanks

Since a shadow pass exists, i don’t think writing a shader that only receives the shadow is something very complex for a programmer. But I am not a programmer, so i don’t know.

An AOV pass that has only shadows is easy. A material that gets only shadows from other objects is not quite as simple in a path tracer. Shadowing in a path tracer is not a result of lights casting them onto objects, but rather an automatic effect of objects being in the way of lights. Meaning objects don’t “receive” shadows, shadows are more just a happy accident of the ray/path tracing algorithm. Creating a material that is only visible when there is another object between it and a light source is not entirely trivial to do, or it would already be done. There are other things to take into account, too (surface properties of shadow material, GI, etc.) Not that it’s impossible either, other’s have such a material, it’s just not been high on the list of priorities.

… and something else to consider along those same lines, m91, is that when you do need “shadows only,” an algorithm cheaper than ray-tracing might produce acceptable-enough shadows to composite into the shot, even if the lighting itself was done some other way.

Is this correct? No. Does it look like shadows look, well enuf to sell the shot? Yeah. Usually.