Camera Tracker Improvement Ideas

Hello Eveyone!

Side Note: I’m extremely new here so if I’m breaking any rules or anything, please tell me!

I’ve been using Blender for a few years now. Mostly for visual effects and the like. During my time as a blender VFX artist, I’ve found the tracking tool in blender an essential feature for merging live action footage with CG elements. Since I have used it so much, I have some ideas for features that I would like to make for the camera tracker. I don’t have any experience in programming add ons for blender so maybe you all could help me develop my ideas so they can be shared with the community! So heres what I have so far:

1. Improved Tracking Marker Refinement

I know that this is already a feature in blender, I’m just looking to improve it. Lets start with an example. Your tracking a marker through a piece of footage. After a few frames, the marker begins to slide off of its position. Now you go back to where it starts to slide, move it to where its supposed to be, and than continue tracking. Now this works to some extent, but it can be so much better. I propose a drop down menu in the tracking tab called “Tracking Marker Refinement”. When expanded, it shows a table. Above the table is the name of the currently selected tracking marker. To the right of that is a button that says “Add Keyframe”. When clicked, a keyframe is added on the current frame and at the current position of the marker. As more keyframes are added, they populate the table. The table shows data about the keyframes like a picture of where the keyframe is, the frame it’s on, X and Y position of the keyframe, and possibly other data. When you have reached the number of keyframes desired, you click a button at the bottom labeled “Refine Keyframe”. This tracks the marker through the footage, using the set keyframes as reference. Keyframes can be added and removed as needed.

1. Frame Specific Tracker Error Display Options (what a mouthful!)