Real life Blender usage

Hi gang,

Just saw this article, http://mashable.com/2014/03/05/seinfeld-oculus-rift/ which is totally unrelated to Blender at first sight (Oculus Rift VR demo) but halfway in it is mentioned that the envronmnet was created using Blender.
I like such mentions of Blender a lot as it indicates that it is being used more and more ouside the Blender hobby sphere and more and more as a standard 3D creation tool. (The Oculus Rift too has me drooling of course…)

I work as an Art Director at an ad agency and I have been working on a project that I need renders for - the work is out of my scope and my current role does not allow me to use a whole lot of Blender… but I sneak it in where I can. Anyhow, for this job I have been working with two production studios who are bidding on the project and when I was visiting the one the other day they realized I knew a little bit too much about 3d for your typical AD on the agency side. I mentioned that I use Blender and he started listing off a few things they have used it for. Oddly they used it for motion capture, but he was unaware of the quality of the renders you could get straight out of cycles and some of the other amazing features.

But yea, I thought it was pretty cool to have a quality studio mention in person that they have used Blender for actual production work.

We do!

We use Blender with Cycles for all our rendering work (including the rendered sequences in the video above). For in-game assets we use Maya, but we are considering moving to Blender when the new FBX exporter is released. This is the only stumbling block for us, but progress on the new exporter is very promising!

Blender covers all our needs, and it does a better job than Maya in several areas, like 3D painting, unwrapping and texture baking. And Cycles is very intuitive compared with Mental Ray. The turnaround is considerably faster.