Why Blender?

Ok, I am a maya user and have been working in maya for quite some time. Before that it was max, lightwave and strata. Needless to say, I have been working in 3D for a long long time. Ive always known about blender and have always known it was a capable piece of software able to do everything the heavy hitters can do only is free.

What I want to know is simple though. Why did YOU choose blender and why do you stay with it? I would love to know the reasons… the more specific and less fanboy the better. I also have to ask… is it because it is free? If blender cost the same as another software package (ie:modo, maya, LW etc) would you still choose blender? I am just curious.

1- Because I like it.
2- Because I use OSS if I can. I also use Krita and Gimp for exemple, even tough I run windows on my PC and not Linux.
3- I’m too poor to buy a license for 3DS Max or Maya for what amount to a hobby for me.
4- ???
5- Profit!

I’ve been working in 3D for 8 years now, across Maya, Max, SI, and Blender, with limited experience in Modo, C4D, and Houdini. If Blender cost as much as the others, I’d still use it for modeling. It is hands down the fastest modeling suite I’ve ever used. It has a steep learning curve to get to that point, but once you’re there it flies. It also has robust sculpt tools only bested by niche packages (ZB, MudBox, 3DCoat) integrated right in, which is a huge help for certain work. I still jump into ZB for tiny detail work, but Blender is sufficient 95% of the time. Cycles is an exciting advancement as well, but even if it’s not your cup of tea, Blender interfaces fairly well with most big packages, and is even beginning to get official support from some bigger players (Thea, Octane, VRay).