Shadow catcher[finished half-baked]

Hi,

I started playing arround with render nodes and maybe found a solution to render out shadows by using passes and nodes without rendering layers and masking and double render times. I don`t know if thats helpful because i started today and have no Idea if that might be helpful or not. Maybe it is complete trash… But at the moment it seems to work.
The problem to me was that I could not find a solution or tutorial for a shadow catcher option in cycles without rendering 2 times. Maybe I did reinvent the wheel because i could not find a solution and i dont know if my idea works well but I tink I can share this and maybe one of you can and tell me.

My shadowpass node can be linked from the blend file below. It works well to me at the moment but I did not test everything.

If you like to test just setup the objects you want to cast shadows by setting the object ID or material IDs to 5 (S=5 like Shadows :) ). This Objects are the objects that should cast a transparent shadow in your final render with transparency. My ShadowPass render Node has 4 inputs.. you have to enable the shadow pass, OB Index pass, Material Index pass , and Environment pass under render layers passes. Render your image and connect the passes to my ShadowPass Node and link the outputs. Set your save folder and it should work. There are two output channels. One for only shadow and one for objects with shadows. Dont know… but looks good to me at the moment :wink:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]287267[/ATTACH]
setup nodes
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/81779736/Blender_ShadowCatcher/shadowpass.jpg
blend file
https://db.tt/UkG709Ud

Ho! my help question about shadow casting option in Blender! Good find, Piet!
Sincere congratulation.

Edit: Your two attachements links are breaked! Weird.

awesome i’ve been waiting a longtime for this, but man Your two attachments links are broken!