Henschel Hs 129 "Tank Cracker"

Hello! This is the Henschel hs 129 variant B-3 which I’ve been making and I thought I’d share it here. It was a German ground attack aircraft from WWII. Dedicated purely for ground attack–it was armed with two MG-17 machine guns, two MG 151/20 cannons, and one modified PaK 40 75 mm anti-tank gun–this set up allowed it to destroy any armored vehicle on the battlefield.

My aim is to make it as realistic and accurate as possible. If you have any tips, see any problems, or have any comments feel free to leave them here.

I’ll update this thread with new screenshots from time to time. Modeling is a challenge since I’m not very experienced in Blender but it’s coming along, slow and steady.

Attachments

Hi coolfield7,

very interesting plane. Slow but deadly ! I advice you to model parts as separate mesh. For witold’s book, the english version is not really expensive imo. And you could learn a lot with it !

Alright, separate objects it is!

This is what I’m doing now: Going to model everything step-by-step, fully model the nose, then the cockpit, wing, etc. Before, I made everything at the same time in a rough form, problem with that is, if I put one loop cut it would go over the whole plane :spin:

Attachments

Modeled a bit more. Some of the basic cutout of the cockpit is done. Front window added.

Attachments

Added the cockpit/canopy hatch/cover.

Attachments

Added the wings, changed the cockpit front window, and a few more minor tweaks here and there. I made the flaps separate but before arranging the wings in the proper position, so I joined the meshes again and re-positioned them together, I might make them separate again later…maybe…

Attachments

Added a few more thinks and made tweaks. That bulge houses the upper machine gun of the plane if you’re curious.

Just an update, I haven’t given up! Took a break and in a few days I’m gonna start up the good ol’ Blender and keep at this thing until it’s done!