What to Look for in Digital Art Tablet?

Hi guys, I’m not sure if this is the right area to post this, but I’ll give it a shot. As I’ve been continually learning the ropes of 3D art I’ve read several times that digital art tablets are a real help, and I’m thinking I might try and find one.

What I could use is some help in identifying the good/bad properties of tablets that I should look out for, or even suggesting specific tablets. Keep in mind that I’m by no means an expert in 3D yet, so I might not be able to follow if you lay into the heavier technical jargon. :wink: At this point all I really know is that I’m not going for anything high-end, but it doesn’t mean I’m going for the cheapest dirt I can find either, just something price-worthy that I could find useful.

Also, if anyone has any links or help as to how you could best incorporate tablets into the 3D process, that would be appreciated. :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Wacom is industry standard for a good reason, and likely the best advice is ‘get a wacom’. For one, they don’t require batteries, are well suported and are sturdy.

You can look for reviews for other brands, Monoprice is very well liked, for one.

some people are happy to use their tablet for the whole 3d process, i am generally only comfortable using the tablet for sculpting and texture painting in blender. you will need a tablet size that you are comfortable with i guess. though, mine is a 6"x4" drawing area and that covers two monitors, so a 3"x4" drawing area, which i have no trouble drawing and sculpting with. so if you have the cash then a nice wacom intuos for £10,000,000,000 would be a good buy, especially if your going to work profesionally. or just a little Bamboo for £40 off ebay will work just as well. all you need to be certain of is that the tablet is pressure sensitive. some cheap ones arn’t and they are not much use for art work, being little more than expensive mice!

Alright, thanks for the responses. :slight_smile: