Advice for test OpenSubdiv integration

Hi Blender folks,

I was thinking of experimenting with Blender coding over the holidays and could use advice on the best path. I’ve been a tools engineer at Pixar for 16 years but have never worked in Blender. I have it building and running on my mac laptop which was nice and easy. The goal would be a first prototype OpenSubdiv integration, nothing too fancy but getting the OpenSubdiv code running.

One option would be to write a new subdivision modifier or add an option to the existing one. Likely this would be CPU only so not high performance, but useful. Would folks recommend extending the existing modifier or writing a new one? Any experts in that area with advice.

Another option would be using GPU accelerated drawing. This is likely harder, but with more payoff. Cycles looks like it has subd drawing already - I know Brecht has done some prototyping there. There is also the game engine code, is there another site with OpenGL drawing code for non-cycles drawing? Any pointers to the best place to start?

Thanks!

-Dirk

Hi Dirk, I think there has been some work done to integrate OpenSubdiv into Blender.

Best ask Brecht van Lommel whats the state of this (if I recall correctly he had something working already), Brecht sometimes works on stuff privately before releasing - if so, maybe now is a good time to move development into the open to allow collaboration.

Hi,

I did a quick integration in Cycles with just the CPU code, and I’ve pushed that code to our main repository now behind some #ifdefs.