[Addon] SublimeBlender - Execute scripts from Sublime Text 3

BlenderSublime : Develop with Sublime Text 3 as an external script editor.

An interactive bridge between Sublime and Blender. To improve the quality of development :slight_smile:
BlenderSublime allows you to develop, execute and debug straight from Sublime without exiting Sublime.

Features

• Execute your script from Sublime directly in Blender
  • Sublime Console shows the console output of Blender
  • Easy to use with a Sublime Shortcut : Ctrl + E

Download : https://github.com/svenfraeys/SublimeBlender
Setup : BlenderSublime Documentation

I am still new to the world of Blender. I saw this as a good use for development.
But if there are more specific needs for Blender developers do let me know :slight_smile:

Enjoy !

1 Like

This looks awesome and I just tried it out. Works great in Sublime Text 3, but doesnā€™t work in ST2. Maybe an excuse to finally upgrade up to ST3.

At one point I tried to create an auto-complete plugin for the BPY module (so it works like ctrl+space in the blender console). I didnā€™t have any luck with that at the time, have you done anything like that in Sublime Text? If this could also do hinting/auto-complete that would be amazing!

Ah great that it works from the first go ! :slight_smile:

Think ST2 runs on Python2 and ST3 runs on Python 3 for writing pluginā€™s ? (but can be wrong)
but the sublime plugin is quiet easy to setup so I will check out a ST2 version somewhere this week if you want.

ah the Auto-completion is a good idea to check out. Depends a bit how you have to populate a dropdown list in Sublime.
But you have any resources that already can point me in the good direction would be great!

PS : Hope you read the ā€˜bugsā€™ section in the documentation. The ā€˜blender.exeā€™ process will not shut down when you close blender. Since the SublimeBlender thread is not closed. So can be that it will block new connections.