osl shader for Damas

Hello,
First of all, I’m from max/vray world, so don’t bane me right away, please.
I’m not a coder at all, and Bardo, on the vray forum, told me that I may look in blenderartists for custom made shader.
I’m looking for “Damas metal” shader and it should look photorealistic.
So, because I’m not a coder, I may be on the wrong path, so better to ask the pro for the following:

• Can OSL be photorealistic?
  • Is blenderartists.org the right place to request such custom Shader?
  • Will this shader be compatible with vray/max or is there some difference between a blender OSL and Max/vray OSL?
  • What is the budget to write a shader? (is it compatible with small business artist like me?)

Thanks for your advice.

Hello,

That’s pretty cool. I’ve never heard of those blades

> Can OSL be photorealistic?
Yes, Sony has showed-off OSL in a few feature length movies already (e.g., MIB III, The Amazing Spider Man)

> Will this shader be compatible with vray/max or is there some difference between a blender OSL and Max/vray OSL?
It should pretty much be. That’s one of the core ideas of OSL after all.

> What is the budget to write a shader? (is it compatible with small business artist like me?)
> Is blenderartists.org the right place to request such custom Shader?
For those I will leave you in the more capable hands of others. Good luck :wink:
Tip: if you find an implementation of a Damas shader in a different language (glsl, hsl, …) it would be much easier for someone to help you.

thanks for the answer.
It sounds like there is not a lot of person able to handle this kind of shader.
Any idea about another forum where other language (glsl, hsl,…) are develop?
Thanks