How to install on Linux?

Can someone advise step by step what to do to make this work on Linux? I’m new to it so dont assume I know anything. In fact, assume that every time I post. I have Ubuntu 13.04 and it looks like its downloaded a compressed archive or something.

Sorry, perhaps because of my bad English I did not understand.
Do you want to install Ubuntu on your computer? Or do you want to install Blender in Ubuntu?
If it is about installing Ubuntu, you should tell us the characteristics of your machine and if you have some version of Windows installed on it.

No its about installing Blender in ubuntu. Ubuntu is already installed and I have downloaded the blender archive into ubuntu.

Hi, install is not needed, only unpack in file manager and start with double click.
If it not start you have to start from a terminal to get more information, sometimes libraries are missing.

Cheers, mib.

Ah, ok. Two ways:

1. Open the Software Center, search for “blender” and install it. You can use Blender now.
    or
  2. If you downloaded the file from Blender site, surely it is a “tar.bz2” which is an compressed archive with binaries there, and they do not need to be installed. Just from your file browser uncompress it to a new folder, enter to the folder and run the file “blender” you will find there. You also do here what I have explained in 1) to ensure that the required dependencies are installed, and then step 2) work properly.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:irie/blender
add repository

sudo apt-get update
update repository…

sudo apt-get install blender
install…

I uncompressed the files, but when i double click on the blender icon, absolutely nothing happens at all.

I would download blender from the software centre, but its an older version (2.66a not 2.68a)

Please, you first install from the Software Center as I had said before for the dependencies are installed. Then try running the file for 2.68a version.