architectural visualization

Hey guys,
this is my first attempt of an architectural visualization animation and I need some focused critique :slight_smile:
Unfortunately I can’t afford the architecture academy by Andrew Price :frowning: , so I tried to make an architectural visualization by myself. In keeping with the motto: learning by doing.

you can watch the first draft of the animation here:

https://vimeo.com/72929798

I first start with a blue print of the floor plan, some measurements and the position of the individual rooms.
(created with freestyle)

In the next part the walls “grow” out of the ground and the windows, the roof and the door come from the outside
and form a “clay model” of the house (rendered with blender internal). The transition of the background to a “real world environment” is just an animated mix of two images in the Compositor: one from the clay model created with the internal renderer and an image created with Cycles with “real world” environment.

I tried to add some grass via a particle system and add some trees too but this increased the render time tremendously and I’m a bit limited on hardware and time :wink:

In the next part the camera is moving on top of the house and the materials of the house change (glass gets clear …).
As the camera is pointing directly at the roof it looks a bit boring (looks a bit like a house from the “The Sims” :)). Maybe I put some sort of solar panels on the roof. However, the focus at this point should be on the skylights.

The last part so far shows the interior and the possible furniture of the house. Most of the objects are modeled by myself but some are from blendswap.com and turbosquid.com. e.g. the bathtub, toilet, sink, …

In the next parts of the animation I want to make some stills from some rooms (bedroom, living room, kitchen, …)
and a day time and evening view from the outside of the house with the grass and trees.

So please let me know what you think :smiley:

It looks fantastic!