problems with fluid simulation

Hi,

I’m pretty new with Blender, so maybe this is the reason of my problem :slight_smile:
Anywhere, Im trying to do a simple fluid simulation with a pill falling in a glass of water. (BTW - how can I change the “weight” of the pill to affect the amount of splash?)

The issue is that when Im baking the simulation, the liquid is going out of the glass (even though it is an obstacle)

Attached is the blend file.

Any help will be more than appreciate.

Regards

Jose

Attachments

fluid_test_03.blend (524 KB)

Check your fluid object. In the properties panel (N) turn on the normals display and you’ll see the face normals face inwards. Flip them with W / flip normals.
Try and be claen with your modelling.
Ensure the scale of all objects are 1 (Ctrl+A / clear scale)
Ensure you have the correct settings for fluis and obstacles. Are they a volume or a shell
Remove any doubles and ensure normals are correct.

how can I change the “weight” of the pill to affect the amount of splash?
Think of the real world. The faster an object enters the water the bigger the splash.

EDIT: What has this got to do with discussing blender ? Moved thread from Blender Discussion forum to Support / Particles and Simulation forum. Please think before starting new threads which forum is the most appropriate.

thanks a lot for your answer, and sorry for the mess with the forums, as I new here.
I couldn’t find in the Properties panel, the normals display, where is it? (Btw, before the baking of the sim, I edit the water , selected all and pressed recalculate - is this correct?)
What is the difference between volume and shell? How this affect the simulation?

Thanks again

Jose