First WIP: Dali Concept 1

Hi all :slight_smile:

I’m gonna make my first WIP thread ever, so bare with me if I’m not doing it right :slight_smile:

I’m very new to Blender and modeling, so I thought that it would be a good idea to make a WIP thread for some C & C to give me pointers to what I should work on.

The object I’m gonna model i a loudspeaker called Concept 1 made by Dali. The reason that I choose the speaker is that i feel that it has some elements that are a good challenge for me, but not so hard that I will get stuck and wont finish it. Also because I have two of them standing right in front of me, so i wont have any problems with reference photos or blueprints :smiley:
I’m going for photo realistic look, but doubt that I will achieve that in my very first try though. But I am sure gonna do my best :slight_smile:

Here is a reference photo so you guys know what they look like:

And here is my progress so far:

I have already learned a lot from this, and I know there is a lot more to learn so I hope to get some more done on it soon.

Thanks for reading :slight_smile:

Update for today:

not sure how much I’ll be able to work on it in this weekend, as I’m off to a family party and have work to do as well. But maybe i can do a little Sunday.

Have a nice weekend all :slight_smile:

Added some details today, and I should be ready to start adding materials tomorrow. I hope :smiley:

Modeled the last details today, and put on some VERY quick mats, that also showed me that I need to redo the cone of the speaker itself.

Finally I got an update for this one.
I reworked all the mats and corrected a few modeling errors. I’m getting pretty close to what I’ll be satisfied with when looking at the modeling and materials. I would like to get some comments on how to make a rubbery/spongy material for the foam between the membrane and the frame, anyone got any advice for that?