Astrolabe

Here is a cycles render of an astrolabe I recently made.

Comments would be appreciated, as I am still new to modelling and rendering, thanks.

Maybe a little too polished. In the corners there would be small bits of dirt, and the material would be rougher, as a polishing tool can’t get in there.
The hardest part about CG is the dirt and imperfections.

Other than that, it’s jolly good.

Thanks for the comment, they all help. I guess it does need dirtying up a bit.

What about the model, render and lighting?

God, that’s gorgeous!
Do the orbits move and everything?
This should be a blendswap. I can think of like five things off the top of my head I’d use it in.
Perfect sci-fi furniture.

nice work!! agree about the dirt and (bear in mind I only ever seen 1 in a museum) that one the planets was coloured glass beads and the gimbals(joints) was in steel

Thanks Adam, much appreciated. I don’t have it rigged. I may put in on blendswap, but I’ve only just joined, and have so far only uploaded one blend.

Heddheld, there are many types of astrolabe. This version does not contain orbs.

I remember studying about astrolabes years ago in grade 7. Cool model you’ve got there. And about the dirt issue, it all depends on how you want to portray your mesh. If you want it to look like some old, used astrolabe in a dusty room, then yes, obviously you’ll need imperfections. But if you want to make it look brand new, then dirt will be a waste of time. Nice render.
Cheers!

The dirt thing is really a matter of taste. Other than that, great model, and great lighting. If I were to pick out any flaw, it’s that that the large ring in the center is a bit noisy. But You have to look very carefully to even notice that.

Thats cool!

My personal taste on adding dirt to this, I would not do. Unless you are going for a older look. To me this says it is either brand new. Or old that has been restored and highly polished before photo taken.

I like it! How many samples?