Blender 2.63a and MacBookPro 8,1 i5 / missing buttons and menus

Hello ppl,

I am a beginner and working hard to try practice tutorials the last 3 days. reading the blender wiki. Googling on all problems i encounter. installing multitouchpad, enabling emulating keypad and I really want to learn Blender.
I am not sure if its just me, beginner. The macbookpro, or the combination of both. But i am really trying hard and spent a lot of time (as in days) effort finding solutions and reading and viewing for days!
I found some ways to work around not having a mouse. but it dont seem to help.

Some of the problems:

1. can’t select a top mesh in the center of a wineglass (wineglass tutorioal) and delete it to make it hollow. it just wont let me select the center of the top mesh. it first didnt show it at all, so i thought ok, its not there but later on it suddenly was there.
  2. don’t seem to have the the buttons window (while i seem to have all other editor types), and therefor
  3. don’t have access to multires to sculpt in sculpt editor.
  4. can not find the glass material option under the wrench icon/material/surface/new it just doesnt show the option new under surface.

Is there anyone that know how to solve these questions and mostly some good advice in how to work around stuff having a macbookpro. I can work around some stuff, i found out how to work with alt/swipe in order to be able to turn the object all ways. but this right and left mouse button seem to be an unsolvable problem.

I really hope someone can help me or point me to information i need to work through. Googling hasn’t gotten me too the right info so far.

I thought it should be possible to work the basic tutorials but they are a nightmare (although well made) with not having the right menu and clicking possibilities.

All help much appreciated, i hope to find that its still possible to use Blender, i really would love to do be able to work with it and make videoclips in the future.