Old Post Office

Hi blender world.
This is my first post, i have already realized something with blender but i have not much experience. I’m working on a building with which i would like to make a short animation. My building-subject is a postal builng in Trento (Italy), it has a long history and it has changed aspect several times. I will recreate the version of the building before the latest change.

I have the drawing project and only one photo of this building so i don’t have much information about the details and the colours/materials of the building.
I’m new at modelling building with blender, so i will try to do my best, but i will be very happy to receive lots of critiques and some tips.

I have already modelled some parts of the building. I have some doubts about how many vertex I should keep for this project, especially in the arcs. And i am not very satisfied for the way i am modelled the “volute”, the decoration in double spirals that you see in the picture.

And finally a render with only ambient occlusion.

you italians have such fine architecture, well done on recreating it mate :slight_smile:

wow that some post office…beats our little corner shops :smiley: great modelling!

The building was built under the Austrian empire when my region was part of that Empire. Then it was modified by the fascist government because it did not represent the fascist idea of the Italian culture.

I have tried again to model a voluta. I wanted to give to it a less plastic aspect, so i used “sharp edge” and i used a logarithmic spiral to model the curl. ( I used the spiral script)

I began to model the central part and the corner of the building too.

I am not able to make the railing. I don’t know how to turn the extrusion profile of the railing without distorting its volume. Is there a technique to cut a mesh with a plane or another way to do it?

I’m not into modelling buildings but that is some fine modelling. :yes: